Lifestyle

A letter to my ex best friend.


Dear ex best friend,

It sounds so final doesn’t it? “EX!” Like we had a massive fall out or break up, when it wasn’t that at all, it was a gradual thing, we grew up, we drifted, I suppose that happens.

We were both once crazy party girls, we had a lot of friends between us, but no one got me like you and vice versa, we were always on the same wave length, always getting into trouble. Some of, if not all of my best memories are with you. And even though they were years ago now, I still talk about them often, I still talk about you too I guess. Never in a bad way, I don’t have a bad word to say about you. You were my diamond, whenever I needed you you were always there. You were the first person I confided in when I was pregnant, and I didn’t even have to tell you, you just knew (we knew each other that well), and our friendship didn’t change, you became a crazy aunty to my boy and he loved you for it. We still had a few crazy nights out afterwards but they soon came to a stop. Instead we opted for Chinese and drinks whilst watching xfactor and discussing boys and people we didn’t like. Somehow over the years though we went from seeing each other 5 times a week to 3, then to 1, and before we knew it we were going weeks without seeing each other and constantly trying to “fit” (for lack of a better term) each other in. 

 It’s been almost a year now since we saw or spoke properly, and its affected me a lot more than I’d like to acknowledge. I loved you like a sister, I honestly thought we would be friends for ever, I know that sounds cliche, but I really thought we got eachother. My family still ask how you are, sometimes I lie and act like we’ve spoken recently, sometimes I tell them I have no idea, because the truth is, we are near enough strangers now. And I do honestly hope that at some point we come back into eachothers lives and pick up where we left off, I would love that more than anything. But right now I know your happy, and you know I’m happy, so I guess that’s all that matters. But if you ever needed me, like really needed me, I’d still be there in a heart beat, and if a guy ever done you over I would probably still smash his car windows for you, but until then, I guess goodbye, and I honestly, whole heartedly wish you the best with whatever you choose to do in your life, and I hope you are truely happy. 

2 thoughts on “A letter to my ex best friend.

  1. That really affected me..I have recently drifted from two of my friends and actually don’t have anyone else so your words helped, knowing there are other people going through the same. I hope you have a “replacement” for lack of a better word x

    Like

    1. Sorry to hear that lovely, but unfortunately you are not the only one. It’s hard, I also don’t have anyone else other than family, she was the only friend that stuck around after I had children so to lose her completely is really hard. I hope you have someone else you can turn too. Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

